Coffey County Leroy, Kansas

  History


 
Businesses
Churches
City Map
Education
Government
History
Library
Organizations
Recreation
Utilities

Little Blue Bar
 

Early History

Originally known as "Scott's Town," Le Roy was established by John B. Scott and his brother-in-law, Frederick Troxel. The latter was the first known white inhabitant of the present Coffey County. In 1854 he built a log cabin in the woods just south of the present town and brought his family here. His wife was the sister of John B. Scott, for whom the town first was named.
 
Later Thomas Crabtree bought the Troxel interest in the townsite and when Richard Burr returned from the California gold fields in 1856 he bought a third interest in the company, then known as the Le Roy Town Company. Records do not indicate just why the name was changed to Le Roy but one logical theory is that it was in tribute to Le Roy, Illinois, former home of the founders. In any event, the city was incorporated in 1865.
 
From: Empire That Missouri Pacific Serves
 
Downtown LeRoy in the early 1900's - Photo by permission of the First National Bank of Leroy
West side of Main Street, Leroy, Kansas- Early 1900s
 
The 1883 Cutler's History of Kansas has more about the early history of LeRoy
 
____________________
 
City Hall
(620) 964-2245
P.O. Box 356 • LeRoy, KS 66857
 
Explore LeRoy & Coffey County, or visit other Kansas Cities & Towns

September 19, 2000 / John & Susan Howell / Wichita, Kansas / towns@kslib.info

Blue Skyways Visit the Home Page for Kansas
A service of the Kansas State Library
© Copyright 2000
John & Susan Howell
Kansas on the Net